Membership Information

The membership of the Accountability Board reflects Johns Hopkins’ dedication to empowering diverse people, ideas, and experiences.  This includes diversity not only in affiliation with the university’s schools, campuses, and communities, but also in race, gender and gender identity, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religion, age, and ability.  Accountability Board members will be expected to share a respect for diversity and a commitment to working across differences to ensure the ultimate success and effectiveness of the JHPD. 

The Accountability Board will be composed of: 

  • 5 community members unaffiliated with the University, including at least 1 community representative from each of the three areas where the JHPD may patrol;[i] 
  • 10 Johns Hopkins University students, faculty, and staff, including at least one member of the JHU Black Faculty and Staff Association 

[i] Md. Code Ann., Education § 24-1205(c)(2). 

Accountability Board Members

Community members

  • Sonja Merchant Jones, Homewood
  • Edward Kangethe, East Baltimore
  • Noah Patton, Peabody
  • Cynthia Gross, Mayoral Appointee
  • Doris Minor Terrell, City Council President Appointee


  • Lorraine T. Dean, ScD, Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Katie O’Conor, MD, Faculty, Emergency Medicine-Anesthesiology Program, School of Medicine
  • P. Logan Weygandt, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine


  • Terri Massie-Burrell, PhD, Director of Student Disability Services, Johns Hopkins University, Homewood campus
  • Thomas C. Judge, Executive Assistant, Department of Epidemiology, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Vacant *


  • Elise Favia, Graduate student, Education, Johns Hopkins Engineering for Professionals program
  • Michael Wilkinson, PhD student, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Vacant **
  • Vacant **

* Resigned, effective January 19, 2022

** Resigned upon graduation, May 2022